The Joan skirt

A few weeks ago I posted a photo on Instagram about a vintage floral fabric. I wanted to make a skirt out of it for Spring but I wasn’t sure about the style. I ended up using pleats (instead of cutting a doughnut out of the fabric as I often do) and I’m happy enough about the result to show it to you.

DSC_0274 (2)

The fabric is made of soft cotton. I think it used to be a bed sheet . It features a light yellow background, pink peonies and lilac hydrangea, with two toned green leaves. It seemed the perfect fabric for something springy.

DSC_0270

I decided for a high waistband and I’m quite happy about how it turned out. I also added four belt loops, but I’m not sure about them. Perhaps I just need a higher belt. I’m thinking about a lilac one or a light green one.

DSC_0281 (2)

I find this skirt perfect for every activity outdoor: I can’t wait to wear it for a pic-nic. I didn’t sew any pockets and I missed them so I’m thinking about adding one on the front or two on the sides.

DSC_0264

 

Skirt – Handmade by me

Cardigan – Stradivarius

Shirt – H&M

Belt – from a Lindy Bop dress

Bangles Splendette

miss-edith-pavot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

